Core i9-9900K will be the new processor with 8 cores and 16 threads of Intel

A leak has confirmed the names of the first three processors that Intel will launch in its first renewal of Coffee Lake S CPUs:  Core i9-9900K, Core i7-9700K and Core i5-9600K. Its release should occur later this year, although we are not sure if they will only work on motherboards with Z390 chipset or if they will be compatible with Z370 chipsets and below.

Core i9-9900K will be the new processor with 8 cores and 16 threads of Intel

Intel’s 8000 series Coffee Lake S processors only work with 300 series chipsets, forcing users to have a motherboard with a 200 series chipset to upgrade if they wanted to use those processors. This drastically reduced their life cycle (only one generation), and unfortunately it seems that Santa Clara could do the same with the Z370 series chipsets and below.

If this support limitation is confirmed, all those who want to mount a Core i9-9900K, a Core i7-9700K or a Core i5-9600K will have no choice but to change the motherboard. We do not know how Intel would justify that decision, but we imagine that he could resort again to an explanation related to processor power by increasing the maximum number of cores.

Not all the specifications of these processors have been specified, but at the moment everything points to the fact that they will be configured so that:

  • Core i9-9900K: 8 cores and 16 threads.
  • Core i7-9700K: 6 cores and 12 threads.
  • Core i5-9600K: 6 cores and 6 threads.

We hope that this new series of processors will come with silicon-level corrections that will resolve most of the vulnerabilities and security flaws that affected the Coffee Lake S 8000 series processors.

As for the Z390 chips as we have said on previous occasions it seems that it will be a simple name of the Z370 with minimal improvements, among which include the inclusion of Wi-Fi AC connectivity and Bluetooth 5.0.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.